HHO generator trial run

I wanted to see if i was on the right track before putting much more effort into this project.  So, I filled ‘er up with some tap water and double-checked the resistance between the pos/neg posts to make sure there wasn’t a short.  There was about 180k OHMs of resistance – not sure if that is good or bad.  So I then jumpered in some temporary leads and threw the switch.

The bubbles coming off the plates was immense!  You couldn’t even see in as the water was so frothy with them.  That lasted for about 10 seconds until my 20amp shop breaker tripped.  The water, electrical leads, and alligator clips were pretty hot too.  So, with that I’d call the trial run a success – but I really hope I can bring down the current draw using distilled water and (limited) baking soda or I will have to resort to other measures to limit the current…

The picture below is from when it was all over, I wasn’t brave enough to stand close on the first run.

Leave a Reply

