Isolation routing

Working on a little project for the home theater cabinet, and wanted to make a small circuit board to remove what would otherwise have been a point-point wiring mess.  I am a rookie at eagle-cad, but can cobble together a schematic/board eventually.  In the past I have sent my boards off for manufacturing, but I wanted to try my hand at milling one.  There is a great plugin in called pcb-gcode that works well with eagle cad.  While it has tons of configuration options, don’t be daunted.. using the defaults and a 60 degree 1/8″ v-bit the results look as though they could be impressive.

I ran the trial on 1″ extruded foam to get a feel for the process.  PCB-gcode kicks out two files, one for routing, and the other for drilling.  The image above is just the routing, which includes  a small ‘dot’ on the pads which would be useful for centering a drill bit later.  I have not yet run this on copper, as I didn’t have any small enough drill bits.  I ordered up two #65 or .90mm bits from Midwest Circuit Technology.  As soon as those arrive I will route/drill the board.

After it is completed, I am sure I will recall a few things I left out of the schematic…

Leave a Reply

