Water Rocket Launcher 3.0 :: The Plan

Been launching water rockets with the kids for a few years, and thought I would try to amp things up a bit this year.  I have been using the air compressor to generate the launching pressure, and the 80psi or so I get makes for an impressive launch – but I think we can do better.  I have also been trying to make an electronic push-button type launcher, little kids have trouble pulling the rope to release the wrocket sometimes.

So I thought I would take a different approach and try to generate the pressure internally via combustion.  That way the bottle would be basically sitting on the pad, not under pressure until ignition.  I had previously thought I could generate H2O via electrolysis but thought that may be too dangerous to have 120vAC in the mix..  🙂

So new plan is to use propane.  I think if you start the bottle with x amount of air, then add propane until you hit the right mix and ignite you should be in business.  The wrocket will either fly or blow up!  Hopefully after a few tests I can identify the right mix.

Or maybe it will just blow up each time.  Should be fun either way.

One thought on “Water Rocket Launcher 3.0 :: The Plan

  1. Ugi says:

    This is way too late to be a useful comment, but I think 12v from a car battery is enough to electrolyse water with a bit of bicarb’ in it. This sounds such a cool plan that I must give it a go – will report back if I can make it work!
    Cheers
    Ugi

Leave a Reply

