CNC sign from Plywood

My neighbor is starting to brew his own beer, which is a great boon to me.  In an attempt to curry additional favor I offered to make him a sign for his garage.  My intent was to do a trial run in plywood, then do a final in maple with walnut letters.  While doing a clearing operation the main portion of the sign, I got into a layer of plywood that had a very nice grain/color.  I am no real wood expert, so I don’t know what it is, but it was very pleasing overall.

Got off easy on this project, just routed the letters down into the next layer of lighter colored wood, and I was set.  Few coats of rubbed poly and off to the neighbors.

Lesson learned – look at the edges of plywood when routing, you may be able to use the various layers to your benefit!

Leave a Reply

