Word Clock Build

This project was one of those long-running ones which took almost 7 months from when I saw the first one out there and wanted to make one, to when I actually got started.  One of the big catalysts was Joe’s blog post on his build – so hats off to him!  Joe did perf board wiring, and I wanted to create a circuit board for the task.  The reason for this was twofold: (1) I hate perf board and (2) I wanted to build the atmega circuit and bootstrap it myself.

So if you watch the video below, you will see I failed at getting my atmega to run.  Could not figure it out!  Next time I will surely include additional LED’s (pin 13 anyone?) to aid troubleshooting.  So, that said in the zip file attached you will find my eagle schematics.  If you use them, be aware the microcontroller portion requires some additional scrutiny.  Maybe its fine, and I just messed up the wiring.  Who knows.  If you want to take a peek at it and give me feedback I would appreciate it!

Other big change/addition from Joe’s build was I added a Real Time Clock (RTC).  In my case I used the ChronoDot.  It is much more accurate, and tracking time in code was MUCH easier.  Here is my code, eagle schematic, and .DXF file for the led array.

WP_20130217_001

 

Leave a Reply

