New gear begets new gear

It was bound to happen.  I finally got tired of finding the appropriately-sized wall warts to power my workbench projects.  It was time for a new power supply.  I picked up a reasonably priced 30v 5a Korad KD3005D, which seemed to have the small number of features I needed.

Upon its arrival, and after the unpacking excitement waned, I noticed a small problem.  The voltage being produced was way off from the displayed amount.  This was troubling, and an email to the manufacturer brought about a new control board which I swapped out.  Bummer is, the same problem persisted.

Dumb cheap-ass supplies right?  My concern for the second service inquiry is them doubting my technical prowess, so i ordered a second multi-meter.  I wanted to be able to have two meters showing the output, which wouldn’t match the power supply.  So i got a TekPower TP4000ZC ordered (serial output!) off Amazon (thanks prime!).

Wired the new meter up with my old meter (acquired in 1993) and low-and-behold.  Problem on my end.

WP_20141108_004

My trusty old meter turns out to be not so trusty.  Sorry, Korad – sorry I ever doubted you.  Threw the old meter in the trash and picked up a second TekPower.  Nice to have two.

Leave a Reply

